Another wonderful week at the MTC!

100_5390

My nametag!

100_5398

Me and Sister Porter match every other day accidentally. Plus these photobombing elders are wonderful!

100_5408

Mandarin speaking missionaries go to 17 different countries. We’re pretty awesome! A couple of elders left for the Scotland/Ireland mission today.

100_5412

Wo ai wode tongban! (I love my companion!)

100_5423

Wo ai wode Diqu! (I love my district!)

100_5453

Our Cambodian friends!

       Wow it seems crazy that I’ve already been here three weeks! The group that flies out to Taichung this week is the last Taichung group before ours- crazy! Also, next week on July 8th we get 54 new Mandarin speakers at the MTC! Just to give you an idea of how many that is. Right now we have two Mandarin branches of about 30 missionaries each, so both of the branches will double next week. We are so excited!

 

On Tuesday, we got to hear from Elder Christofferson as part of the New Mission Presidents Seminar. It was really awesome because Elders Bednar, Oaks, Nelson, Anderson and Ballard were all there as well. The choir got to sing Praise to the Man for the devotional and it was really incredible to sing with 588 other missionaries. It was a really awesome meeting. All of the new mission presidents were so excited to see all of the missionaries too!

 

On Wednesday, I had this moment where something clicked about Chinese. I’m so excited to learn more now. I’ve accepted the fact that I won’t be very good at it for a while, but I’m also amazed at how much I have learned. I went back and looked at my “first testimony” I wrote the first week. It had taken me like 3 hours and now I can say all of that and so much more without even thinking about it much. There will always be more to learn, but it’s crazy how much I’ve learned in just a few weeks. I’ve been a lot less scared to try to say things even when I’m not exactly sure that I’m right. I wake up everyday and I’m excited to learn more and love saying more and more of what I can. I just got over being scared of it. 

 

We’ve started to read a chapter of the Mo’ermenjing (Book of Mormon) out loud in Zhongwen for language study this week. It kind of reminds me of trying to read the scriptures when I was in Primary- I didn’t understand a lot of the words, but it still made me happy. That’s how this is. It’s exciting how many words we do recognize and it’s really good practice. It’s also amazing how we can feel the power of that book even when we don’t understand it all. Another wonderful thing about our study time is that Sister Murdock and I have discovered taking a lap around the MTC. After our personal study, we start our companionship study by discussing what we learned and how we can apply it to the lessons we are about to teach while walking around the whole MTC. It only takes about 10 minutes but it really breaks up the day and it’s become one of my favorite things. 

 

On Saturday we had our first experience with TRC. It’s when we go share a message with returned missionaries who speak Chinese. We got one guy who spoke so fast that I literally had no idea what was going on for a long time. But we sort of figured it out enough to share a scripture with him and hopefully it was okay. 

 

I love the MTC and how much I learn everyday! We’ve been really studying the Restoration and The Plan of Salvation as we teach and I really do love this gospel and know that it’s true. It’s so great to be here!

 

Alma 22 is awesome. We’re teaching the Plan of Salvation for the first time today and it was just really cool to read again. I love the Book of Mormon!

100_5427

This is our weekly schedule. It’s pretty great. The empty spaces on Tuesday and Sunday are filled with choir. I’ve also perfected the art of blowing my hair dry with my left hand and doing my makeup with my right hand. Skills.

100_5454

Tu JieMei and Di JieMei

Leave a Reply

