When you have 2 companions, you have (at least) 2 friends!

I cannot believe that this next week will be my last at the MTC. Crazy! 

 

We got our flight plans!! We get to report to the travel office at 3:30 in the morning next Tuesday. We go from Salt Lake to Denver and have a 2 hour layover there and then we flight to San Francisco and then into Taipei. So… a really long day, but I am so excited! There are 16 of us headed to Taichung that day, so it’s going to be a good party.

 

We’ve had a couple of exciting things going on this week. First off, Sister M. and I became a tri-panionship with Sister A. for our last two weeks here. Her visa didn’t come through last week when she was supposed to leave, so she joined our class. She has a separate companion for living and Sunday and P-Day, but she’s with us when we teach and for class. She is so awesome and we have really loved working together with her. She just found out this morning that her visa did come through, so she might be coming with us to Taiwan next week! It has been awesome to have her.

 

On Wednesday of this week, our district was selected to be interviewed by BBC. I know all of the Special Operations people at the MTC now. (Yes, there are people who work Special Operations at the MTC). We found out the Friday before and we were all pretty excited and a bit nervous about it. It was a cool experience. We’ll find out in a couple of weeks if she will actually use the material she got from us. She only asked the whole group a few questions and then asked a lot of questions one on one to different people. We kind of showed her how our Chinese class works because everyone is a little fascinated by how we learn Chinese so fast. We also sang Nearer My God to Thee in Chinese and that was awesome. It was a lot different than I expected, but it was also really cool. 

 

This is our district for the interview, looking all nice and professional. 

 

Media interview with the BBC.  The reporter, Jane, is on the far right.

Media interview with the BBC. The reporter, Jane, is on the far right.

I love being an MTC Sister Training Leader! It’s been so fun to get to know all of the sisters in our zone on a personal level. They are all so awesome and I really love them. I love the opportunity and I’m so glad that I get to do this for my last couple of weeks here. We’ve had some cool leadership meetings and training. We get to meet with the Branch Presidency and the District Leaders and Zone Leaders on Tuesdays and Sundays and that’s been really fun and interesting.

 

I know I’ve said this a lot, but I LOVE my MTC district. These Elders and Sisters really are the best. For our district devotional review last Tuesday night, we all bore our personal testimony of the truthfulness of the gospel. It was really really powerful. I am so glad to have been with these wonderful elders and sisters while I’ve been here. 

 

This is a side note, but this week we get something like 150 senior missionaries coming into the MTC and it’s an MTC record!

 

Yesterday was our last Fast Sunday at the MTC! Fast Sundays are great because we have Mission Conference. We get to hear from the MTC Presidency and they are all really fantastic. President and Sister Nally and really wonderful. It was just a great meeting and I learned a lot. It is exciting to be here with so many missionaries headed out literally everywhere. Last night we also got to watch an old MTC devotional from Elder Jeffrey R. Holland. It was called “For a Time Such as This” and he gave it on Thanksgiving of 2012 here at the MTC. He talked about just how grateful he is that he lives in this time, how grateful he is for Joseph Smith and how grateful he is that our Heavenly Father literally knows every single one of us. It was really powerful and really made me think. I am so glad to be here at the MTC right now and to be going to Taiwan to spread the gospel. 

 

On Saturday, we were doing our last weekly planning for the MTC. It was really interesting to think about my goals for the last week here. I’m pretty excited about it. Honestly, there will probably be some things that I miss about the MTC- like my district, and going to the temple every week for P-Day. I have really loved it here, and it’s strange to think that next week I’ll be packing up and leaving! I AM SO EXCITED TO GO TO TAIWAN. I know that it’s going to be so wonderful and I already love it so much! I know that this church is true. I know that our Heavenly Father loves each one of His children. I know that Joseph Smith really did see Heavenly Father and His Son, Jesus Christ and that the fullness of the gospel was restored through him. I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God. I love you all so much and I thank you all for your support! 

8-4-14 a

A little mini high school reunion with Elder Heaps and Elder Idso

8-4-14 e

The Troy to my Abed sent me a fantastic package this week and she made me an adorable pillow case! Thanks to Brittany- she’s the bomb!!

8-4-14-b

A better map picture! TAIWAN!

 

Leave a Reply

