Coagulated Duck Blood and a “Typhoon”

9-21-14c

This is the HUGE temple that overlooks the lake!

9-21-14a

On the boat taking us across Sun Moon Lake!

This week was absolutely fantastic! There are so many wonderful things going on here and I’m very lucky to be a part of this work here in Taiwan and especially in Wu Feng and Dali. It is incredible to me how much the Lord’s hand is in every aspect of this work every day for me personally and for everyone that I meet with.

Last P-Day we went to Sun Moon Lake! The most wonderful people in our ward took us over and we went with Sister Park and Sister Thao from Nantun. It was SO beautiful and so much fun! I have a whole ton of pictures that I’ll send. It was just so cool. I’m so lucky to be in such a fantastic place!

 

Tuesday we had Zone Conference with the Taizhong and Taizhong North Zones. It was SO great. We talked about our missionary purpose and how everything we do should be centered on that purpose. “Invite others to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored gospel through faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost and enduring to the end.” It truly is such a fantastic purpose to have every day all day long. There is no better feeling than bringing others closer to our Savior. I just love every minute of every day. Zone Conference was also great because we got to be with so many other wonderful missionaries. I got to Sister Murdock, who I just love! We also got to eat Costco pizza, which is a rare and wonderful American food. It’s also just so great to be around President and Sister Blickenstaff. My favorite President Blickenstaff quote of the day was, “He’s sent you, with all of your weaknesses and inadequacies. And guess what? You’re good enough.” It was a great day and we all came out with the renewed effort to truly fulfill our purpose each and every day.

9-21-14g

Wunwu Temple

9-21-14f

Sisters!

9-21-14d

One of the prettiest places I’ve ever been in my life!

9-21-14e

You use this to tell your fortune

   

9-21-14h

Sun Moon Lake

9-21-14i

This week met with one of our fantastic investigators, Lin Jiemei. She is so fantastic! We were teaching her the Word of Wisdom this week, and she was SO willing to accept because she knows of the truthfulness of the gospel. (Ironically we taught it in an eCoffee-we teach in some random places that are relatively quiet). Her testimony has grown so strong and I am so excited for her. She is preparing to be baptized in the next month and we could not be happier. It’s been so great to truly see how much happier she’s become in the last several weeks. My first lesson in the field was with her and we’ve seen a lot of miracles together and I’m really excited for her!

I started a project to contact all of the former investigators in our area that still might have interest. SO. MANY. MIRACLES. There was one who I called and she was SO excited. She said it’s been a long time since she’s met with missionaries and she missed it. There was another who is just the sweetest, most patient and kind person ever and we met with her this week. It just so amazing how much these people have been prepared through previous time spent with missionaries. We are very blessed to have seen so many miracles. 

 

9-21-14r

SUN MOON LAKE

9-21-14l

Our ward BBQ for Mid Autumn Festival

9-21-14n

Some of the Li family! LOVE THEM!

9-21-14t

We took the boat across the lake to all of these little shops!

 

On Saturday night, we got a text saying that church was cancelled for the whole Taizhong stake because there was going to be a typhoon on Sunday. And then the Zone Leaders texted us and said that we were to stay inside all day unless we got the okay to go out. So we were expecting some pretty intense typhoon all day yesterday. We woke up yesterday and it was cloudy, but no rain or wind or anything and by 10:30 the missionaries were cleared to go outside. It was weird because church was still cancelled so our plans were really weird. No one left their houses all day, but there wasn’t even any rain or anything. Mostly we were just sad that church was cancelled. It was strange. But we had a chance to go out tracting since so many of our plans fell through and we met some really cool people. So miracle!

 

Last night we got to go to Family Home Evening with the Li family! I LOVE THEM. They are preparing to go to the temple next month to be sealed together forever. They have four sons who are the GREATEST kids ever, and they are just some of the greatest people you’ll ever meet. I am so lucky to be here with them! It was a great way to end the week!

LOVE YOU ALL! 

Oh, and this week, I ate coagulated duck blood. Yep. My companion ordered it for me in my hot pot and I didn’t know what it was until after I had eaten it. And don’t think I’m disgusting, but it was actually pretty good in a spicy hot pot. I’m all for the new things now! 

9-21-14q

Sister Park and Sister Wadsworth and me

 

 

One thought on “Coagulated Duck Blood and a “Typhoon”

Leave a Reply

