4-19-15

Sorry I had a lot to get done on the computer today and don’t have a lot of time today to write you all, but it has been a great week!

Monday- I got a haircut for P-day! Ha, it was much needed. It is warming up here in the south of Taiwan! We also got lost a little bit on Monday night. Every time we get lost on my mission, I feel like it’s for a reason. 

Tuedsday- We had interviews with President and Sister Blickenstaff and planner/area book checks with the Assistants and Zone Leaders. Always a good time for learning. And surprise- President Blickenstaff asked me to train a new missionary next move call. I’m a little nervous but so excited! 

Wednesday-  Me with four people before and after English class! I love being busy! 

Thursday- We met with our friend Ray! He’s super great. He’s a 9 year old kid who wants to get baptized and we hope we can help him do it! 

Friday- We got to visit a wonderful less active member and we were able to meet her mom! Her mom is almost 70, but now she has interest in the gospel and came to church yesterday! 

Saturday- We went to a ward member’s funeral. He was almost 90, but it was still a little sad. I love the hope of the plan of salvation! 

This week I read in Jacob 5 about the allegory of the olive trees and saw a lot of parallels to the things I am doing in my missionary work right now. What I thought on the most was when the Lord of the Vineyard asked the servant, “What more could I have done for my vineyard?” As I have been setting some specific goals for the next couple of move calls, knowing that I will be training a new missionary, I have thought a lot about this question- what more can I do for Tainan 2nd ward? What more can I do for my new companion? I have realized that the best thing I can do is get completely one hundred percent lost in this work. The joy of this work is found in the love of it. The more I give of myself, the more I consciously give up my selfish desires and thoughts, the more I rely on Him, the more I desire to be diligent and obedient and charitable and humble, the happier I am. I hope to constantly be discovering more that I can do to serve Him as best as I can. I know that this is the work of the Lord. I am so glad that I have been given the opportunity to serve here at this place and at this time.

 

Leave a Reply

