Cockroach adventures and FRIENDS everywhere

DSCN3302

Exchanges with Sister Yang

Hello everyone!

Here’s some cool things that happened lately 🙂 

 Language 

I am so glad that I have been called to serve in Taiwan and I am so glad that it has required me to push myself and rely on my Father in Heaven in order to learn Chinese.This move call has been super amazing in helping me to see how blessed I have been with the gift of tongues on my mission. I still have to work at it every day, but it would just be impossible without the help of my Father in Heaven. Working with Sister Johnston is the first time that I have been the companion with more language experience and it has been an eye opening experience as I have been able to help her with the language as well as continue to improve myself. Last week at church, the gospel principles teacher wasn’t able to make it and so it was suddenly on me and the other missionaries to teach a lesson on work and personal responsibility in Chinese- and I wasn’t stressed even for a minute. I have also been able to start refining my translating skills because I get to translate for Sister Schweider, the senior missionary serving in our ward. Translating live church meetings is super hard because you have to listen to what they are saying and spit in out in English while listening to the next thing that they say, but I have improved a lot already with the experience. I am just so grateful that Heavenly Father has blessed me with this opportunity and given me the strength and skill to help others with this wonderful language. It amazes me how many people I have been able to meet because of this wonderful language. It just means so much to me. 

 NEW FRIENDS

This week we found 6 new investigators!! It was a super miraculous week. We have been very focused on finding more people to teach this wonderful gospel to and it was great to find those who are prepared- and their prepared friends! There are people everywhere. I know that every person down here in XiaoGang is a child of a loving Heavenly Father, and I just want them all to know that so much! 

 An exchange to ChaoZhou

This week I had the amazing opportunity to go all the way down to ChaoZhou in PingDong to exchange with Sister Yang. Since I have never served as a Sister Training Leader before, she was able to train me how to fulfill that responsibility. In the end it was one of the most fun exchanges I have ever been on in my life. Sister Yang is from Taipei, but I swear we are the same person. Ha, we have so much in common it was ridiculous. We both love the piano and all of the same movies. I helped her decide on her English name and she helped me to change my Chinese name a little. We spoke the weirdest Chinglish ever- her English is really good and in the end every sentence had some Chinese and some English. It’s amazing how many wonderful friends I have made on my mission. We had a ton of fun talking to the wonderful people of ChaoZhou and inviting them to hear the message of the gospel. We also had a couple of really solid lessons. We worked really well together and just got each other excited about missionary work and our new areas (we both moved two weeks ago).  When we got in for the night, there was the most enormous cockroach I have ever seen inside on the wall. It was almost the size of our phone. Neither of us are super squeally or got scared or anything, we just grabbed the cockroach spray and aimed- but then, it started to FLY! It was a flying cockroach. At that point we got a bit squeally and sprayed like half of that bottle of cockroach spray in the air. In the end, he died. Sister Yang and I laughed until we almost cried and then we bonded and became best friends for life. So we had a good time in ChaoZhou. 

16 copies.

Originally we were going to go to Taizhong for Mission Leadership Conference last Thursday, but because of the upcoming Zone Conferences, that was cancelled, but not in enough time for us to set anything up for Thursday. So we said some prayers and decided that on that day we would give away 16 copies of the Book of Mormon. We did it! (Well, a couple copies waited until the rest of the weekend, but we still did it!) It was amazing to find so many prepared people at the park and in the airport and at 7 and Family Mart and every corner or our area and just testify of the Book that I know with every ounce of my being is true. I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God and contains the fulness of the everlasting gospel of Jesus Christ. I am so glad to be a missionary and share that with the wonderful people of southern Taiwan. 

LOVE YOU ALL! 

DSCN3298

Mango BING!

Leave a Reply

